US Department of Labor Awards $43M to Improve Services for Dislocated Workers

The U.S. Department of Labor today announced a total of $43,286,407 in Reemployment & Systems Integration National Dislocated Worker Grants to 43 states and territories to support and improve connectivity among existing workforce programs.

These grants will improve the capacity of the workforce system to seamlessly connect dislocated workers, unemployment insurance claimants, the long-term unemployed and other job seekers to all available services. Projects will focus on integrated case management, increased accessibility to services through customized online tools, and providing workforce agencies with real-time data to identify and address layoff trends within industries and develop responses or layoff aversion strategies.

National Dislocated Worker Grants, formerly known as National Emergency Grants, are awarded by the Secretary of Labor under Section 170 the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act.

Listing of Grantees

Grantee Name

 Amount Awarded

Alabama Department of Commerce


State of Alaska  Department of Labor & Workforce Development


State of Arizona – Department of Economic Security


Arkansas Department of Workforce Services


Connecticut Department of Labor


State of Delaware


Department of Economic Opportunity (Florida)


Government of Guam  Department of Labor


State of Hawaii Department of Labor and Industrial Relations


State of Idaho  Department of Labor


Indiana Department of Workforce Development


Iowa Workforce Development


Kentucky Education and Workforce Development Cabinet


Maine Department of Labor


Maryland Department of Labor  Licensing and Regulation


Executive Office of Labor and Workforce Development (Massachusetts)


Michigan Talent Investment Agency


Mississippi Department of Employment Security


Montana Department of Labor and Industry


Nebraska Department of Labor


Department of Employment Training and Rehabilitation  (Nevada)


New Hampshire Employment Security


New Jersey Department of Labor & Workforce Development


New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions


New York State Department of Labor


North Carolina Department of Commerce – Division of Workforce Solutions


Job Service North Dakota


Ohio Department of Job and Family Services


Oklahoma State University – Oklahoma City


Higher Education Coordinating Commission  (Oregon)


Pennsylvania Department of Labor & Industry


Puerto Rico Department of Economic Development and Commerce


South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation


Texas Workforce Commission


Vermont Department of Labor


Virginia Community College System


Washington State Employment Security Department


Workforce West Virginia


Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development


State of Wyoming  Department of Workforce Services