Webinar: A New Job Market for the “Gig Economy”

The gig economy is quickly expanding in the US and globally. It’s predicted that by 2020, 40 percent of American workers will be independent contractors. Often referred to as the “sharing economy” or “on-demand economy,” this dynamic collection of online business platforms facilitates a wide variety of exchanges including of property, skills, labor, and space.

Common examples include:

  • Airbnb (rent a room or your house)
  • Uber (provide rides)
  • TaskRabbit (do chores for others) and
  • Instacart (be a personal grocery shopper)

With support from the government of the United Kingdom and foundations, Beyond Jobs – an organization with a mission to unleash a 21st century model of irregular work – has developed an online platform that goes beyond today’s diffused and disconnected sharing economy platforms by creating a centralized database aggregating opportunities and vetted workers.  It has the potential to provide a more efficient, predictable and easier-to-use platform for both workers and consumers.

In this webinar, Wingham Rowan, director of Beyond Jobs, will provide an overview of the platform, provide a tour of the site and discuss potential application in the United States.

The webinar is scheduled for Wednesday, December 7, 2016 at:

10:00 – 11:00 AM Pacific
11:00 – 12:00 PM Mountain
12:00 – 1:00 PM Central
1:00 – 2:00 PM Eastern

Free: To Members of the International Association of Workforce Professionals

$9.95: Non-Members

Click Here to Register

IAWP - Member Benefits (Hertz Discount)