Workforcedev2020 A Virtual Experience for Workforce Professionals  >  Learn More!

Oregon Workforce Leader, Graham Slater Honored With IAWP Public Policy Award

By Grant Axtell, IAWP President and Training and Development Specialist, Oregon Employment Department

Recently, Grant Axtell, IAWP President, and Erika Motzko, IAWP Oregon Chapter President-Elect, (pictured) presented the IAWP Public Policy award. The IAWP Public Policy Award recognizes an individual who performs outstanding public service in the support of workforce development programs or personnel. Potential nominees include state or federal elected officials, appointed federal administrators, workforce agency directors, and others. The Public Policy Award affords national recognition for outstanding public service occurring during the calendar year proceeding the judging year. Prior winners of this prestigious award include the first U.S. Secretary of Labor Frances Perkins, and Presidents Harry S. Truman and John F. Kennedy.

This year, the winner of the IAWP Public Policy Award is Graham Slater, Deputy Director, Oregon Employment Department.  Graham was honored with this award for his dedication to making the Oregon Employment Department a place people want to come to work each day; as well as for his 31 years of service to the workforce system and his ongoing support and engagement with the International Association of Workforce Professionals.  The award was presented during the 2018 Workforce Development Conference in Cincinnati, Ohio. Steve Corwin, IAWP Oregon Chapter Past President, accepted on his behalf.

CLICK HERE to see the video.

The mission of the International Association of Workforce Professionals (IAWP) is to connect and develop those in workforce development. A part of that is recognizing the outstanding and innovative work of organizations, groups, and individuals through the IAWP awards program. One of the most important awards IAWP bestows is the Public Policy Award.