IAWP Volunteers Successfully Complete Awards Judging

I would like to thank and recognize our team of hard-working volunteers that convened at IAWP’s corporate office to judge the award submissions for 2015. Winners will be recognized at the 103rd IAWP International Educational Conference on June 26-29, 2016 in Buffalo, New York.

Pictured above  from left to right – Grant Axtell, Mikell Fryer, Sharon Mike, Terri Pasternik and Jenny Yarian-Scalpelli

Judges carefully evaluated and scored 94 entries, up from 72 submissions in 2014. The increased participation was exciting and all of the work and dedication exhibited on each of the submissions was certainly impressive.

Submissions are carefully evaluated by three different judges utilizing a list of predetermined factors before the votes are tallied and winners determined.  Judges are prohibited from scoring submissions from their home chapter.

Pictured from left to right – James Thomas, Gerri Jimenez, Cheryl Brown, Verna Wade and Mary Rogers

Awards not only allow us to recognize the wonderful work being conducted by our local chapters but also affords us the opportunity to improve our recognition process. Throughout the scoring process, judges offer suggestions that may serve to improve future processes.  IAWP President, James Thomas compiled a list of the suggestions from our 2015 judging and named a special ad hoc committee to evaluate them and recommend possible enhancements.

Thank you again to all of our judges, chapters and others for all your hard work and dedication to the IAWP.

I would also like to thank our staff, Paige Stodghill and Debbie Cardwell, for providing administrative support.

Steve Bent, CAE | Executive Director

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *